The Crafty Traveling Box Stopped Here!


2-3 weeks ago the Crafty Traveling Box stopped by my house with a lovely selection of craft supplies for me to choose from!  It was very exciting, I had joined along with Awesomesauce and Asshattery for the international craft supplies swap!  I had planned on what I would be sending…that is until I opened the box!

Once I opened it, I realized all the lace I had planned to send, was probably not going to help anyone.  I had planned to send some swatches and some doilies- but there were already a few doilies and what looked like vintage hankerchiefs inside!  Oh well, I had some other goodies planned!

Here is the first post from Sheri when she sent it out, check out her goodies she sent to us!

When I opened it up, all these lovelies were inside!

craftybox3I love the peacock trim, but no clue what I would do with it.  Some shiny gold fabric that again I have no clue what to do with.  The doilies and lace trims were pretty, and I decided not to add mine to the mix.  Then those really pretty (presumably) vintage hankerchiefs!  I wanted them, but one of the “rules” was to only take the things you will use.  So something to just look at, was not going to cut it!  Besides…I’m trying to sell off a lot of my stash, no need to add to it with things I am clueless to use!

I ended up picking one doily, it feels different then cotton, not sure if it is a type of polyester.  I love the look of doilies on clothes, as a pocket or maybe a cutout on the back!

craftybox1

Then, there was a huge pack of unopened gold sequin trim!  I scooped that right up!  I have some pink and black sequin trim I got on clearance at JoAnn’s awhile back.  I have high hopes that I can come up with a cool design with these different trims to refashion a shirt or possibly some jeans.  Here are some ideas:

4 DIY Sequin Ideas for New Years Eve   <—–Lots of great sequin clothing refashions

 

Here is what I passed along in the box!

craftybox4That’s a vintage pattern I got at a garage sale.  Not sure why I picked it up, I think I got it for free!  An iron-on silver metallic panda…another questionable purchase, but look how cute he is!  A home-dec fabric swatch that I had high hopes to make a purse from (similar to those placemat clutches), but its been a year and I still have it!  Time to go.  2 lengths of hemp, and then a handful of vintage metal buttons.  Because who doesn’t love buttons?!

If you’re following along on Sheri’s blog, you can see the latest stop here.

5 thoughts on “The Crafty Traveling Box Stopped Here!

  1. Pingback: buenos días from the CTB! | Awesomesauce & Asshattery

  2. Pingback: G’day from the Crafty Travelling Box! | Awesomesauce & Asshattery

  3. Pingback: A bit of CTB Hocus Pocus… | Awesomesauce & Asshattery

Give us your two cents!

