9/11: Twelve Years later, America is more than stats


Culture Spoon

I’ve begun to wonder how I will explain the significance of 9/11 to my own kids in the future. 9/11 has become a historic event we summarize with numbers and descriptive phrases. “Twelve years ago…”, “September 11, 2001”, “Over 3,000 innocent people died” , “millions affected by the tragedy and horror…” The numbers and words help describe the events, but they don’t explain the significance. For me, 9/11 was the first day I felt proud to be an American.

I always knew I was lucky to have been born in America, but I never felt particularly proud of the fact. I was born into a generation that took America’s elevated status and economic prosperity for granted. Twelve years ago on September 11, I was just another 13-year-old student taking a Texas history quiz when the intercom speaker crackled and told us, “a second plane had crashed into the World Trade…

View original post 492 more words

One thought on “9/11: Twelve Years later, America is more than stats

  1. Pingback: September 11 (Twelve Years Later) | The Surf Report

Give us your two cents!

