DIY Easily Dress Up Some Flip Flops


I went to an outdoor wedding this past weekend that was “casual” so I already knew I was wearing a lovely sundress, but couldn’t decide what sandals to wear.  I had a pair of black Old Navy flip flops that I got last year (free from Crowdtap- read about that here), but plain flip flops seemed way too dressed down even for a casual outdoor wedding.  So while I was working the other day I had an idea to FINALLY use some of that pretty trim that people always buy and I have no idea what to do with.

So I brought my flip flop to JoAnns with me so I could compare and figure out how much I needed.  I searched the trims and settled on a pretty black lacey beaded trim.  I bought 3/4 of a yard, which was about 4 inches more than I thought I needed, but its best to buy a little extra!  Plus 50% off coupons right now, so it was ok.  I do have the 4 inches leftover because I didn’t mess up at all.  I already know what I am doing with it!

DIY Tutorial Dress Up Flip Flops

So it begins!  Grab your flip flops and whatever pretty trim you want to use.  The trim I chose is a Beaded Lace Trim with flowers, all black.  It is about 1/2″ wide and has about 1/4″ wide space to glue it down.  I used E6000 because I love that stuff for everything!  It worked perfectly.  And now they look great and its such an easy way to dress up an outfit!

DIY Tutorial Dress Up Flip Flops

DIY Tutorial Dress Up Flip Flops

And the final product!  I love it!  I got lots of compliments at the wedding 🙂  Check out some of these Party Sandals Under $50 that could be DIY’d a bit to make them even more fun!  I’m a Beso.com affiliate and get a small portion for every click.

PS.  These are my photos, if you’d like to share them on your website, please remember to cite back to this website as is listed on the photo, and do not remove my website or alter my photos in any way.  Please feel free to share on Pinterest/your blog/Facebook as long as it links directly back to my website/this post.  Thank you!

LINKING UP HERE:

9 thoughts on “DIY Easily Dress Up Some Flip Flops

    1. christinapertz1 Post author

      Thats like the best compliment ever.

      I was considering one of the silver trims, but it came down to the subtleness of the lace and beads that made me choose this. I usually like color with black, but this way is much more versatile.

      Reply
  1. Pingback: New Products Available on Zazzle: Custom Sandals | Zizzling Zazzle - Home of stine1 on Zazzle

  2. Pingback: 19 Lovely DIY Flip-Flop Ideas For The Hot Summer Days | DIYmaniacDIYmaniac

Give us your two cents!

