DIY: Add Glitter to the Details of a Shirt


I love shirts with bling, but they are always like $10 more than a shirt without.  And I don’t really buy tshirts anymore, unless they are somehow special, NYC, Vegas, California shirts etc.  I do like some graphic tshirts, but I won’t buy them.  That being said, I’ve had this tshirt from Delia’s for years!  I think I might have bought it in college even, and that would be over 6 years ago.  But I love this shirt and wear it all the time, it fits great and I love the nature graphics!

I was in the middle of testing out my fabric paint + glitter and seeing how that works, and decided this was an ideal time to try embellishing something else (while it dries).  I rummaged and found this shirt:

diy glitter embellished shirt by christina designs art

Supplies:
Graphic Tshirt to embellish
Fabric Medium (I use: Americana Fabric Painting Medium)
Paint Brushes: small tips for detailed work are best, does not need to be fancy
Glitter!  Any color you like, glitter size is up to you, the finer glitter the easier it will be to paint on

diy glitter embellished shirt by christina designs artStep 1: Choose your shirt.  Place a piece of cardboard or plastic in between the layers so the fabric medium doesn’t bleed through.  It is up to you if you want to tape it down, I did not.  I also didn’t stretch this because it is knit and I don’t want it to dry all wrinkly.  Scope out what you want to embellish.

diy glitter embellished shirt by christina designs artStep 2: Get started!  I put down 2-3 drops of Fabric Medium on a piece of plastic, then sprinkled glitter on top, then mix well.  Try a little at a time, you can always add more!  Besides if you paint it on and its not enough, wait for it to dry and paint over it again!  I chose specific areas on the shirt that were part of the upper half and included areas that could easily be added to without being over-whelming.

This section includes small purple glitter flowers.  These I just dabbed at the shirt with a blob of glitter, I didn’t do much shaping at all.  The gold I used very little glitter and I really had to take my time.  I am an inpatient crafter, you try not to be!  You should try to find the thinnest paint brush possible (choices on the left are pretty good, even smaller is better!) for anything this size.  I’m talking the size of a sharpened pencil!  You do NOT need to buy a specialty paint brush, especially if you are just crafting and not fine art painting, plus they are pricey.  I do fine art painting, that’s why I have these.

diy glitter embellished shirt by christina designs artStep 3: Before you freak out, wait for it to dry.  See that darker thicker spot on the feathers of the bird?  At the bottom there?  I took this photo when it was still wet.  The fabric medium has to soak in the shirt and it will look dark at first.  Don’t panic, most of that will go away, and again, you can always go over it with more glitter if you want.  The bird is half light green glitter and half light blue glitter.  I love how it highlights the wings.

The orange flower is actually what I did first.  It was so easy, this was the perfect place to start. Plus, its basically a coloring book, I just painted between the lines and if I went outside them, it didn’t matter because noone will ever know!

diy glitter embellished shirt by christina designs art

The full shirt!  I added some extra dots of glitter in red and orange on the middle and its not bad.  It may have been odd placement, but I still like it.  The colors give it some extra bling and it really takes one of my favorite shirts and makes it more awesome!  I will hand wash this from now on, just to be sure, however it should not come off.  Its not stiff either because of the fabric medium.  I do not know what would happen if this went through a dryer.

EDIT: Here is a better photo than the original one I had from an iphone.  I took this this morning:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not gonna lie, I’m looking for more clothes to add a little bling to!

Linking up here:

2 thoughts on “DIY: Add Glitter to the Details of a Shirt

  1. Pingback: Free Painting… & Custom Shirts!!! | Ray Ferrer – Emotion on Canvas | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!

Give us your two cents!

