Birthday Gifts : DIY Infinity Scarves


For my Mom and sister’s birthday I made them scarves.  I wanted to do infinity scarves for them both, however I picked a silky fabric for my Mom and was unable to sew it by hand into a circle.  Instead hers became a silk scarf, but it still looks wonderful!  I was influenced by the lovely Infinity Scarf tutorials by The Crafty Novice, Fabric Mart, and Cotton & Curls.

I apologize for getting this DIY out so late, birthdays were mid-January!  This is the tutorial I hinted about here.  We have been very busy and I just took the finished photos of my sister’s scarf last week.  I always get so excited when I am finished and forget to take the final photo of the finished product!

mom_scarf1

1. Gather your materials: pins, straight edge (I use a large non-ruled T-square), cutting mat, rotary cutter or scissors, coordinating thread
2.  Cut your scarf out, I bought 1/2 yard of this Simply Silky Print fabric, actually a little more because it was End of Bolt, I have leftovers, more than enough for a second scarf
3. Sew your scarf wrong sides together on the long edge, this way you can flip it out and the seams will be inside
4.  Now its tricky, I tried to sew it by hand as you see in the top right photo, but this fabric is too slippery for that
5.  I decided, after I was very unsuccessful, that instead I would fold the edges under (twice), and just sew it straight across with the machine instead
6.  and done!  This is not an infinity scarf, it is a long rectangle silk scarf.

mom_scarf2

This fabric is so beautiful with colors of light pink, dark pink, black, maroon, a dark brown, and dark purple all together!  I am unsure what I will do with the leftover fabric, but I will decide at some point, or I will ask for advice!

On to the next one, a real Infinity Scarf!

liz_scarf1

1.  This was made the exact same way, I eyeballed the width I wanted for the scarf.  I also bought 1 yard of this stretchy knit, though 1/2 yard would have been just fine!  (I have at least 1/2 left now) – Cannot find a link to this fabric, sorry!
2.  This fabric has ruffles and I chose to go the long way with them, it also hid any mistakes I may have made during the cutting/sewing part.
3.  I hand sewed the 2 short ends together, and because this is knit, I pulled a little too much and that’s why it is gather in that spot.
4.  This scarf lays very nicely and is so warm!

liz_scarf2

I love the knit and the colors of magenta, light purple, and light grey on white look so good together!  I cannot decide what I will make with it next!!

I have another knit fabric, about 2 yards that I got from the Red Tag bin at JoAnn Fabrics, that I hope to make a Circle Shirt with.  You may have caught the Pinterest links I posted about Circle shirts here.

Disclaimer:  I am an employee of JoAnn Fabrics however I am not being compensated for this post or the mentioning of their fabrics.

I’ve linked this DIY up to these parties:

BWS tips button        Skip To My Lou

Lil’ Mrs. Tori

Not JUST a Housewife Tuesday party

23 thoughts on “Birthday Gifts : DIY Infinity Scarves

  1. Heather Walter

    I have crocheted a few infinity scarves, but they are nothing like yours. I love the fabric you picked. They would be great for spring scarves when it’s still a little chilly outside, but not too cold for a heavier scarf

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Silk scarf love | Librarian for Life and Style

  3. litadoolan

    Beautiful scarves. Had never thought about making them myself. But reading through the instructions it looks straightforward and so much more cheaper than buying a boxed up scarf.

    Reply
    1. christinapertz1 Post author

      Much much cheaper! Yesterday I bought 1/2 yard of a knit that I found as a red tag, plus they were on sale for 50% off. So I paid $2 for it and I’m planning on making myself an infinity scarf with it. I’ve come up with a new method of joining the ends, that I think is quicker, I still need to photograph and share it.

      Reply
      1. litadoolan

        that’s insanely brilliant!! I’m going to check out fabric stalls at local markets. I can’t think why I didn’t figure this out before thank you so much for a great idea. Will be a top idea for gifts too 😉

      2. christinapertz1 Post author

        Great idea! When I buy 1/2 yard, I just fold it in half long ways, sew it into a tube- right sides together, then flip it, and sew the ends together, or leave as is for a long scarf. I prefer knit because its stretchy (perfect for infinity scarves), and usually comes in a width of 50-60 inches. No cutting to do because its already nice and long. Using a zig-zag stitch helps to keep it stretchy, but I’ve used a straight stitch and its been fine as well. They make great gifts, who doesn’t love a scarf thats handmade and personalized?

      3. litadoolan

        That’s genius!! I get how I will do it so easy from your brilliant instructions! Thrilled with this 😉 thank you so much!! I was eye-ing up some lovely scarves that were way out of my budget so this is a winner!

Give us your two cents!

