DIY Snowglobe FAIL


This year for Christmas gifts I was really excited to try DIY Snowglobes.  I’ve seen them all over Pinterest and so many blogs have posted their’s as well.  I also personally love snow globes.  I shake them over and over and I’m just mesmerized by the snow falling.

Needless to say, I thought this would be such a sweet gift.  So I collected my supplies:

DIY Snowglobe

I used E6000 to glue the moose and tree to the lid of my jar.  I bought white fluffy glitter flakes because I thought they would float nicely in the water.  I used a clear glass jar the size of a jam jar.  Its important to note, before gluing the pieces down, to know when screwing on the lid where any writing might be if its going to block the “front” of the jar.  Also, missing from this photo is the liquid Glycerin which is found in the cake decorating section of craft stores.  For this project it is used to help the glitter or snow float slower to the bottom.

I glued the moose and tree to the lid and made sure I could close the jar without ruining the tree:
Moose Snowglobe

I found my moose in the Christmas aisle at a hardware/grocery store.  My boyfriend’s parents really like moose so I thought, perfecto!  The trees I found at a craft store, I don’t remember where.  I got about 6 trees in a bag, this is the medium size, just a few inches tall.

I added the water as high as I could without overflowing, then I added too much glitter.  I covered the top of the water and that was way too much.  Maybe if they weren’t glitter flakes it would have been fine.  I ended up scooping out a lot of glitter.  So try a little at a time and give it some light test shakes before adding more glitter.  I also used about a teaspoon of glycerin.  I have no idea how much you are supposed to use, everywhere I saw it just said “dash of glycerin”, who knows what that means.  I saw some other blog said they filled the whole thing with glycerin, the bottles are not that big, so you better be using mini mini jars or stopper bottles for that!

DIY Snowglobe

Here it is when it still looked good.  You see the moose looks pretty.  The blue/green pine tree had slowly started to tint the water a light blue.  No biggie, other blogs had reported that.  The glitter flakes were all floaty and on the bottom and then also clinging to the tree.  Very nice.

Wait 2 days.  And you get this.  Thank goodness I didn’t glue the lid on the jar or this would be a complete waste.
Blue Moose

One thought on “DIY Snowglobe FAIL

Give us your two cents!

