Confession: I Don’t Like Burlap


I must be the only one.  I see the burlap obsession everywhere.  Its online at almost every blog I read (which is 50+), everyone is doing some sort of burlap project.

I think that burlap smells bad.  It looks dirty.  I feel like it belongs in a barn.  And if you make it into an accessory, isn’t it itchy?

Yet everyone loves the stuff.  I am confused why it is so trendy.

Is it because of projects like this?  Because I could make that with something else!

 

Burlap Bracelets

Burlap Bracelets from Tatertots and Jello

 

Burlap Wreath

Burlap Wreath from The Roseland Family

Burlap Pillows

Burlap Pillows from Sew Dang Cute Crafts

 

Burlap Curtains

Burlap Curtains from Burlap & Buttons

 

Burlap Rosettes

Burlap Rosettes from the Brassy Apple

So, anyone else totally over burlap?  Or is everyone still loving the look??  What do you make with burlap?

12 thoughts on “Confession: I Don’t Like Burlap

  1. beckykearney

    I totally agree… well, kinda. I used burlap for my June wedding and hated every minute of dealing with that gross fabric. But, I have to say, it was cheap and it really looked great. The added texture was exactly what I was looking for to go along with my “rustic” theme.

    I swore I would never use burlap again… but here I stand, just a week after my last craft project using burlap for homemade Christmas ornaments. I guess it’s a love/hate relationship.

    Reply
  2. Jessie Homemaker

    I completely agree!! I mean..I guess it has it’s purpose. I don’t hate it…but I don’t want it as any type of accessory really. The only thing I’ve ever used it for was country western themed projects. But I never put it on me…seems so itchy and dirty!

    Reply
  3. Yelle

    This is a really great post! I love how open you are about your opinion on this and its so funny that I was completely drawn to this post because I love burlap! I recently made some holiday decor with it and will be using it for my wedding next year! No worries though, the texture thing is great about burlap, but there are plenty of other great textures!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Burlap Giveaway! «

  5. Pingback: Sunday Social Linkup! «

  6. Pingback: I’ve been Nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award! |

Give us your two cents!

