Taking a Break from Jewelry Making For Glitter Shoes!


Even though I am working really hard to make lots of jewelry for a craft show on October 14th, sometimes I just need to take a break!  So for 2 days this week, and again tonight, I have taken a break from my hardcore jewelry making to paint!

As soon as I finish the bridesmaid’s necklaces, which will take all of 10mins max, I am going to paint a purse that is seriously faded in places.  Yesterday I painted a pair of flats into a sparkly glitter mess!  The day before that, I painted wooden pendants and now they look just delightful!  I’ll post some photos for you with my glitter flats, the Before, During, & After pics!  Of course there is plenty of inspiration out there, including these: from The Girl Kyle, from Trinkets in Bloom, from I Am Momma.

I thrifted these flats early this summer, maybe sometime around May, and I mainly bought them because its hard to find flats under $10!  Even harder to find used shoes in my size, that I would actually wear, at thrift stores.  So I scooped these up right away planning to glitter them up over the summer.  I used Studio G glitter packs from Michaels ($1 bin) and Matte Mod Podge.  Mix up the glitter and Mod Podge, you don’t need as much as you might think!  Its easy to mix up more.  I have a TON of glittery Mod Podge left and I’m trying to find more projects to use it with! (ugly pink purse transformation maybe?)

I taped up the edges of the shoes so I wouldn’t get a lot of paint or glitter on the rubber soles.  If you do, its easy to scratch it off.  Next if you want to paint a solid color for underneath your glitter, do that now.  I waited about 3 hours after painting before painting with the glitter.  I used Tulip Soft Fabric Paint because I had it on hand from a previous project.  Then mix your glitter and Mod Podge in a container or bowl, mine has a lid so I can easily save the leftovers.  Paint it on!  I waited about 30mins between coats.  I have 3 full coats on there, then I spot checked the final coat and added more glitter where I think I needed it.  Then done!  Mod Podge alone is a waterbased sealer so it should be fine in the weather 🙂

Original Flats and all taped up

 

Used Fabric Paint to paint them black first

 

Painted completely black, just looks light because of the flash

 

I used white for extra sparkle, and teal and lime green glitter in Mod Podge

 

After one coat of glitter and still wet

 

Done! All glittered up!

What do you think??  Have you tried this DIY yet?  Link up your pics here so I can see too!

7 thoughts on “Taking a Break from Jewelry Making For Glitter Shoes!

  1. Pingback: SHOW-licious Sunday Craft Showcase #2 |

Give us your two cents!

